Books & Brews

This discussion group meets on the second Tuesday of the month at 7 p.m. at The Drafting Table. Space is limited and registration is required. Visit the program calendar to register.

Workflow: 
Published
Cover of Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia January 11- Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Casiopea Tun finds a curious wooden box in her grandfather's room. She opens it--and accidentally frees the spirit of the Mayan god of death, who requests her help in recovering his throne from his treacherous brother. Failure will mean Casiopea's demise, but success could make her dreams come true. Armed with her wits, Casiopea begins an adventure that will take her on a cross-country odyssey from the jungles of Yucatán to the bright lights of Mexico City--and deep into the darkness of the Mayan underworld.
Cover of The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett February 8- The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett
The Vignes sisters will always be identical. But after growing up together in a small, southern black community and running away at age sixteen, it's not just the shape of their daily lives that is different as adults, it's everything, including their racial identities. One lives with her black daughter in the same southern town she once tried to escape. Across the country, the other secretly passes for white, and her white husband knows nothing of her past. What will happen when their own daughters' story lines intersect?
Cover of The Chosen and the Beautiful by Nghi Vo March 8- The Chosen and the Beautiful by Nghi Vo
Jordan Baker grows up in the most rarefied circles of 1920s American society--she has money, education, a killer golf handicap, and invitations to some of the most exclusive parties of the Jazz Age. She's also queer, Asian, adopted, and treated as an exotic attraction by her peers, while the most important doors remain closed to her. But the world is full of wonders: infernal pacts and dazzling illusions, lost ghosts and elemental mysteries. In all paper is fire, and Jordan can burn the cut paper heart out of a man. She just has to learn how.
Cover of Firekeeper's Daughter with a purple background April 12- Firekeeper's Daughter by Angeline Boulley
Daunis, who is part Ojibwe, defers attending the University of Michigan to care for her mother and reluctantly becomes involved in the investigation of a series of drug-related deaths.

Mystery & Mayhem Book Club

This book discussion group meets on the last Wednesday of the month from 2 – 3 p.m. for an hour of sleuthing and discussion. No registration required.

Workflow: 
Published
Cover of When the Stars Go Dark by Paula McLain January 26 - When the Stars Go Dark by Paula McLain
When overwhelming tragedy strikes her personal life, Anna Hart a seasoned missing persons detective, flees to the Northern California village of Mendocino to grieve. She lived there as a child with her beloved foster parents, and now she believes it might be the only place left for her. Yet the day she arrives, she learns a local teenage girl has gone missing. The crime feels frighteningly reminiscent of the most crucial time in Anna's childhood, when the unsolved murder of a young girl touched Mendocino and changed the community forever.
Cover of IQ by Joe Ide February 23 - IQ by Joe Ide
East Long Beach. The LAPD can't keep up with the crime rate. Murders go unsolved, lost children unrecovered. But someone from the neighborhood is taking on the cases the police can't or won't touch. They call him IQ, a loner and high school dropout with a fierce intelligence and relentless determination, who charges whatever folks can afford.
Cover of Down the River Unto the Sea by Walter Mosley March 30 - Down the River Unto the Sea by Walter Mosley
After serving time in Rikers Island solitary for assault, Joe King Oliver, who is an ex-NYPD investigator working as a private detective, receives a note from a woman who admits she was paid to frame him, compelling him to investigate.
Cover of Have You Seen Me by Kate White April 27 - Have You Seen Me by Kate White
Ally Linden arrives early to work only to find that she has not worked there in five years. She then realizes that she can not remember much besides her name and after piecing parts of her life together, she realizes she cannot recall anything from the past 48-hours. As she tries to put together the events over the past two days, she realizes that she may have uncovered a dark secret and she must remember what she has forgotten before time runs out.

Books & Bytes Teen Book Club

Books & Bytes is a book club just for teens in grades 7-12. Join us for a lively discussion via Discord on the last Monday every month at 6pm. Please email Emily at emily@wixomlibrary.org for an invitation to our Discord channel. Upcoming book club dates are below.

Workflow: 
Published
Cover of The Black Kids by Hammonds Reed January 24 - The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed
Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.
Cover of I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick February 28 - I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick
Working as a nanny in the Hamptons before starting college, Anna learns of her weird connection to a missing girl, but after she confesses to manslaughter a podcast producer helps reveal life-changing truths.
Cover of Category Five by Ann Davila Cardinal March 28 - Category Five by Ann Davila Cardinal
The tiny island of Vieques, located just off the northeastern coast of the main island of Puerto Rico, is trying to recover after hurricane Maria, but the already battered island is now half empty. To make matters worse, as on the main island, developers have come in to buy up the land at a fraction of its worth, taking advantage of the island when it is down. Lupe, Javier, and Marisol are back to investigate a series of murders that follow in the wake of a hurricane and in the shadow of a new supernatural threat.
Cover of The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee April 25 - The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee
1890, Atlanta. By day, seventeen-year-old Jo Kuan works as a lady's maid for the cruel Caroline Payne, the daughter of one of the wealthiest men in Atlanta. But by night, Jo moonlights as the pseudonymous author of a newspaper advice column for 'the genteel Southern lady